School Information

The Penwith Education Trust

On 17th October 2012 Humphry Davy School's Governing Body resolved to change category from community to foundation school and join the Penwith Education Trust (PET).

PET is a shared Co-operatve Trust and is one of a number of such trusts within Cornwall. Other PET partners are Cornwall Council, the Co-operative movement and Truro and Penwith College. Trust schools are part of the local authority system but are supported by the charitable trust which appoints two foundation governors to each Governing Body. The school's governing body continues to run the school and be responsible for its performance.

The Trust's Board of Trustees comprises two representatives from each of the member schools (normally the Headteacher and Chair of Governors) and one representative from each of the other partners. The Penwith area that PET relates to extends from St Just in the west to Hayle and Gwinear in the east.

Other schools that are members of the Trust include: Gwinear, Heamoor, Marazion, Mousehole, Sennen, St Levan, St. Maddern's, Trythall and Cape Cornwall (accurate as of September 2017).

Key aims for the PET are to:

  • Ensure consistently high expectations and outcomes across all of our schools: amongst learners, teachers, parents and carers;
  • Enable all learners to benefit from high quality teaching and learning;
  • Work effectively with parents and carers, professionals and the wider community to promote health and well-being, in order to create the right conditions for learners to thrive;
  • Make efficient use of all resources available to us and thereby maximise the benefits for learners;
  • Work with external partners including other Schools to widen the range of collaborative opportunities available to our workforce and our young people;
  • Improve social cohesion within our community by strengthening our commitment to co-operative values, including respect, social justice, fairness and democracy.


As a Co-operative Trust, the PET has adopted the values and principles of the co-operative movement; these are set out in Appendix B which can be downloaded on the right. Co-operatives are based on the values of self-help, self-responsibility, democracy, equality, equity and solidarity. In the tradition of their founders, co-operative members believe in the values of honesty, openness, social responsibility and caring for others. We have chosen to join a co-operative trust because these are the values and principles which we feel should underpin our work: with each other and with our young people.

Further information is available in the booklets that were published as part of the original consultation process undertaken back in 2012 - Booklet One 'Changing from Community School to Foundation School Category and Acquiring a Charitable Trust' and Booklet Two 'Questions and Answers' which provides a series of commonly asked questions together with answers which have been collated from the Department for Education (DfE) sources. Further details on categories of schools can be obtained from the DfE website.

Further details of the Penwith Education Trust are available from